Eee PC XP Install Ver. 2.0 A change in direction.

( I Really would like any comments or criticisms  you have. This is totally training wheels for me running XP this small and on a solid state drive. I know that Microsoft word is silly to install but I still use it so often)

The 4GB SSD wall comes fast. Compromises have to be made but not at the risk of a secure operating system. Just losing 1 good password is enough to set off a nasty chain of events.

I have totally removed  virtual memory (swap file or page file). Everyone should do this with a solid state drive if they plan on leaving their Eee PC on for more than 10 minutes per day. SSDs will wear fast as swap files are churning non stop when windows is active. You will get around 100,000 writes in a lifetime. Get a 2GB stick of ram. $20-$100 depending on where and rebates. $19.99 after rebate at Fry’s

Ram

What to cut back….   A year or two ago I played with an all-in-one security program called “Blink personal”from eeye.com . It is a very small footprint security solution. It is quite strict on some levels. You would not want to run it on a machine using torrent programs, cracking programs or anything that accesses Windows Kernel or modifies.

The feedback it provides about your systems security is a bit overwhelming.  Maybe bordering on paranoia.   Close your ports! Run your Windows updates! Remove your guest account! Blah blah blah!  Some security tests show it will protect XP with no service pack or patches at all. Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte did an interview with one of the founders “Marc Maiffret” on Security Now episode #91     5/10/2007

I am going to ignore most all of the advice given. The Ex hacker genius founder of this company has notified Microsoft about holes and exploits again and again. This software closed most holes in XP before Microsoft ever acknowledged  or patched them.

The Blink Personal Edition Software is an integrated firewall, virus, Phishing and malware solution.

I am installing this tonight and removing all of the existing security applications and overhead. My system will be running as follows:

Trimmed down XP Pro (c) SP2 (rtm)   -Highly Trimmed Down with nlite- UNPATCHED

Device Drivers from the ASUS website only,                                                                                            I/E 7.0 plus the current malicious software removal tool it ships with.                                       Microsoft word 2003.  

I KNOW!!               When was the last time you made $1.00 supporting open office!!            Gmail Notifier because i use it.

Blink Personal Version 3.5.7

Adobe Flash, Air and shockwave. VLC Media Player and KLite Codecs If they won’t play it then… don’t play it.       I can watch a movie off my USB or SD Card storage.  (Not likely, I have an iPod touch)

I am going to try to put everything on the 4GB built in drive and leave the SD card alone for this trial.

Desktop

I am NOT installing..

FireFox, iTunes, Quicktime, Safari, WinRar, any antivirus or adware programs.

I am not running a swap file (virtual Memory) as I have a 2GB Stick of Crucial Ram installed.

I am far from saying this is a smart setup. Far from it. It is an easy configuration that I have not seen anywear yet. I will use basic common sense while surfing and doing “normal” day to day things.

I will build another version of XP this week based upon problems and shortcomings with this version. If the system stays clean I am going to “gut” some more away from a my XP original install disk and see how small it gets without compromise.   Knowing how I am, I may reload this tomorrow or in a month. I promise to keep you posted in any event.

Ideas for the next version…    Linux and cloud computing are obvious, so no.

Right now this is fun.

~ by thepeoplegeek on Tuesday, March 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
